Flamingo Mittens

I flipped for this pattern and just HAD to make these flamingo mittens! But for whom?

My mom, of course, because even though she lives so far away, her hands are about the same size as mine, so I could just make them to fit me and know that they would probably fit her!

Every stitch of these was fun, thanks to this mottled, hand-painted pink yarn that I bought on Etsy. The black is super-soft Capretta from KnitPicks and the pattern is from SpillyJane.

I have been working on these for weeks, but they arrived just in time to cheer her up after a fall that broke her shoulder a few days ago. I hope she feels good enough to be out for walks again before the weather gets too warm to wear these.

I love my mom!

3 Responses to “Flamingo Mittens”


  1. 1 Maria February 13, 2012 at 3:29 am

    Those are so great! I have been working on SpillyJane’s gnome mittens for ages. Well, I’ve not been working on them, but they’re in progress. You know. Anyway, love love love those.

    Also I hope you’re doing well. I was sad I didn’t get a chance to see you when I was in Florida–my whole family was sick and I didn’t want to pass on the sickness. Plus I didn’t have access to a car. Blah.

  2. 2 morewithles February 13, 2012 at 10:19 am

    SO cute — both the mittens and your giving them to your mom!!!

  3. 3 smoothpebblejackie February 13, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    you have skills that’s for sure!


Leave a Reply

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

