Brine Octopus

Brine Octopus

The Brine Octopus is a unique species from the Great Salt Lake here in Utah. I am sending him to my friend KnitSonya, in thanks for her hospitality over the Christmas break. This young male is a rare specimen for her Cabinet of Curiosities!

Brine Octopus’ head is about the size of a walnut. I used some Scottish Campion yarn (now discontinued) that has been in my stash for nigh on 8 years! I used a small (now lost) crochet hook, same one that created Hungry Octopus.

5 Responses to “Brine Octopus”


  1. 1 Sonya February 19, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    You have some explaining to do young lady! The only reason I found this blog is because of the Imagiknit blog. It keeps track of who all links to it – oh yes, many pies. I have my fingers in many pies. I guess now I’ve done gone and spoiled my surprise. But it’s so funny that you have amigurumi on the brain – me too. I am psyching myself up to teach a class (nope, nobody read that, I am totally prepared) and I have this turquoise sphere that I’ve been wondering what to do with and I decided after seeing another crocheted octopus to add some legs for a knitted variety of the species. He will be a smashing addition and I will act completely surprised. Promise.

  2. 2 thekidneybean February 20, 2008 at 1:47 am

    Love the color! Your photography is really nice, too.

  3. 4 Mrs. Gomez February 7, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    Congratulations, that is a great design. I would like to have its pattern , if it is posssible.
    Mrs. Gomez

    • 5 ibbyskibby February 7, 2010 at 5:04 pm

      I’m happy that you like it; however, I have never written instructions to make these little fellows. I’m not good at writing crochet patterns!


Leave a Reply

Archives


