A little TOO experimental

I love cooking for company. When friends ask what they can bring, I usually say I’ll make the main dishes and sides and they should bring dessert. Last week I had visitors and decided to make a small, simple cake to serve with coffee. I modified this Orange Yogurt Cake recipe to use lemon zest and juice instead of orange. It was delicious! I made it again for different visitors later in the week…again, delicious!So last night, when I went to a friend’s house for dinner (chicken mole and fresh guacamole and tortillas) and mah jong lessons, I decided to get creative and make two modified cakes: cinnamon-chocolate and key lime…

chocolate cake

key lime cake

Zach has decided that we are cutting out refined sugar, so I made the cakes with local raw honey.

Unfortunately, I don’t know much about substitutions in baking, and the cakes lacked depth of flavor, and were rather dense and low. I didn’t sub 1:1, thinking the honey would be too sweet. So the flattish cakes were pretty, if unexciting. If you have ideas on substituting honey in baked goods, I’d love to hear!

3 Responses to “A little TOO experimental”


  1. 1 Sonya March 1, 2008 at 12:10 am

    I’ll look it up in Nourishing Traditions.

  2. 2 Natalie March 15, 2009 at 1:40 am

    Hi – I found you through a comment on angry chicken – hope it’s ok to comment! Here is a little bit of help on substituting honey for sugar: http://www.reallyrawhoney.com/recipes.php#honeyforsugar I would love to know where in SLC you get your raw milk!
    Natalie
    n.kimble@msn.com


  1. 1 Deep Dark Honey Molasses Ginger Unsnaps « IbbySkibby Trackback on April 27, 2009 at 4:44 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives


