Beautiful Year

My baby boy is 1 year old today. This time last year, heavy labor was starting and I was 6 hours from pulling my little guy up out of the water of the birth pool and starting my new life.

The Boogedy, as we like to call him, was born at home with two supportive midwives, my rock-solid husband, my helpful sister-in-law, and my concerned and loving best friend. The Boogedy has been a treasure and a delight. How motherhood has changed me is too long to list and more wonderful and fearsome than I might have anticipated.

I have been convinced during this year that no mother has ever been so grateful every day, no father more loving and silly, no baby more beloved, and no family pets more accommodating.

Wow. What an adventure.

I love this photo at 2 days old because it looks like he arrived in the mail, in a crumpled package:

Baby Package

And this photo nearly a week ago reminds me of his dad, a frugal man indeed. See how happy he is to put the pennies in the penny jar?! Saving money is better than eating it…lesson of the month.

Penny Jar

Happy Birthday Yitty Guy!

7 Responses to “Beautiful Year”


  1. 1 The Informal Matriarch February 21, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    For one, I LOVE his outfit in that first photo. It’s so beautiful!

    Doesn’t the first year go by way too fast? They change too much and make you love them even more too much.

    We have the exact same kind of Jar in which my toddler loves to put coins into. Weird. It now houses crayons and other small bits. It needs a lid like yours.

  2. 2 Kristin (delic8genius) February 21, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY LITTLE ONE!!! An amazing year indeed!!! Love, Auntie Kristin

  3. 3 Stephanie Tworek February 28, 2008 at 9:50 am

    I love those hats! How cute. Its amazing how much they grow in just one year. Happy Birthday!

  4. 4 Sonya March 1, 2008 at 12:07 am

    Happy Birthday! Cyrus would always eat them – spendthrift like his mother?

  5. 5 Aimee March 3, 2008 at 10:28 am

    Man Archimedes looks so much like both you and Zach in the picture where he is “saving”. What a cute baby you two have made. I can’t believe how big he is getting already!

  6. 6 barb March 25, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    what a doll! do you have the sweater pattern to share? thanks!


  1. 1 Quartet of Elf-Babies « IbbySkibby Trackback on April 4, 2008 at 8:45 am

Leave a Reply

Archives


