Kool-aid? Never touch the stuff!

Sink Yarn

I never liked Kool-aid, even as a kid. But when I caught the internet-fad-fever to dye some yarn, I went right out and bought 10 packs.

My inspiration was Knitty, but for a tutorial on dying self-striping yarn I read Streets and YO’s excellent instructions and pics. It wasn’t until I was pasting in this link that I realized how similar my colors are!

The intended project is a pair of hyperbolic pants from this book.

Using 4 balls of super-soft Mission Falls 1824 Wool:

Plain Yarn

Here it is, strung between the high chair and a baby chair set atop the dining room table. I had to do this FAST, while distracting the Boogedy with a video. After this step I tied it loosely at close intervals with pearl cotton.

strung out

Then hung it up to dry under the carport:

carport drying

And here is curious Curly Coquinche, our friendliest chicken-lady, come to inspect my work:

curious curly

5 Responses to “Kool-aid? Never touch the stuff!”


  1. 1 Sonya April 4, 2008 at 9:22 am

    Hyperbolic pants, those I have to see. And more chicken photos! Those are some ca-razeee feathers.

  2. 2 Kristin (delic8genius) April 4, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    Love this post. šŸ™‚ And to echo Sonya, yezpleez, a post dedicated to zhe cheekins! [bawk-bawk!!!]

  3. 3 Shea April 4, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    gorgeous! delicious too?

  4. 4 ibbyskibby April 4, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    NOT delicious, but certainly a fragrant blend of “froot” smells. These colors are mixtures of lemonade, black cherry, fruit punch, maybe some other kool-aid pack, plus drips and drops of various food coloring. You’re welcome to smell the pants, once they’re done!


  1. 1 Hyperbolic sunset pants! « IbbySkibby Trackback on February 2, 2009 at 4:29 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives


