The Boogedy’s Ark

My mom and dad made this wooden ark for me when I was teeny tiny. The ark has a hinged ramp, old rickety casters, and a nylon rope for pulling around.

Originally, the ark had an entire set of handmade stuffed animals (sewn by Mom), but only these two remain. The others were loved to death:

When my mom had grandchildren, she and dad made an ark for each of my brothers and sisters and their new little families. For that project, my dad cut out sturdy wooden animals and my mom painted them in fanciful colors. Now I have a set of those. The gallery below shows them up close.

I have hung onto this ark through countless moves, facing much mockery from Zach. But, he now admits my wisdom in keeping it. The ark appeals to every single child who has ever visited my home, and I always find the animals paired up and tucked into their stalls when kids clean up the set.

These last two photos show the interior loft and the little door for the giraffes to poke their heads out, respectively.

All photos are relatively low-quality, since the Boogedy races over to play with the ark any time I set up a photoshoot!

4 Responses to “The Boogedy’s Ark”


  1. 1 maria May 7, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    That is awesome! I love that stuffed elephant. And all the painted animals, too. You were totally right in lugging that ark with you any- and everywhere!

  2. 2 Sonya May 7, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    That thing is HUGE and the new animals are lovely. But I think the poor giraffe needs a neck brace or splint or something.

  3. 3 Annie June 4, 2008 at 8:38 am

    Well, you might find them paired up and put away cuz I did it. Ha ha. I love it and will be bringing my ark home soon!!!!!


  1. 1 Six–Photo challenge « IbbySkibby Trackback on February 18, 2009 at 4:36 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives


