new craft room-BEFORE pics

I haven’t been this excited about a home improvement project since…EVER. I have never had my very own sew-craft-studio!!

Zach is putting such thought into this room for me! It is a small, south-facing room with a low ceiling and a bank of windows. The room was a later addition to our 1896 house, added on to our added-on kitchen!. An old stove pipe sticks down into the room. That will have stay for a while, at least until we can afford to re-roof the addition. The worn concrete floor will be scrubbed and painted a glossy chocolate brown (paint left over from the dining room floor).

Earlier this winter Zach moved the clothes dryer out of that space and nearer to the washer (this required diverting and lengthening the gas line to suit the new spot). He also ripped out an ugly, rickety, poorly built wall that was made of planks laid horizontally.

Underneath the old sheetrock he found an original cedar shake exterior wall. We are planning to leave the shakes exposed and paint them shiny white.

We salvaged a white, pre-fab shelving system from my brother’s closets, which Zach will mount against the east wall. That’s where I’ll pile my HUGE stash of fabrics, sorted by color of course. I’ll also have room for baskets of yarn, roving from KnitSonya, WIPs, and dozens of jelly jars holding notions. Under the windows he will build a fabric-cutting table with deep shelves underneath for big rubbermaid storage space.

I lack the ability to put these into a panaramic view, but perhaps you get the idea:

The west wall will be built soon and will have that door you see on the floor. Against the inside of that wall, Zach will build a sewing machine table. This room is actually tiny, so we’re trying to figure out the absolute necessities and best possible design. Of concern is where I will fit a fold-down ironing board.

My favorite feature? Sunshine…even on a cloudy day. This room has true, clear, gorgeous light!

Please send me your suggestions for SMALL studio/sewing spaces!

5 Responses to “new craft room-BEFORE pics”


  1. 1 Kristin (delic8genius) May 14, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    Hooray! Now I’m excited too!

  2. 2 Marian May 15, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    Either Walmart or Target (can’t remember which) has a nifty over the door fold out ironing board, using space you might not otherwise—Love ya, I am excited for you too, Love Marian

  3. 3 Aimee May 16, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Oh Sara this makes me so excited. When you get your craft room finished I would love to come help organize and fold all your beautiful, unique fabrics! We could watch… Lord of the Rings ALL THREE!!!!

  4. 4 Sonya May 19, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    I can see it. I can see it! I have a room of my own. I’ll be posting pics soon.


  1. 1 New New Craft Room « IbbySkibby Trackback on December 5, 2008 at 4:14 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives


