one reason to keep your books

I don’t usually buy books. I go to the library. I rent a lot of books. I pay a lot of fines. I read whatever my sisters put into my busy hands. I happily spend birthday gift certificates that Kristin gives me to the King’s English. I am given novels, which I read and love, but then which I pass along and forget about until I see the title at a yardsale years later. What you don’t see are the children’s books and cookbooks. I do buy those, but haven’t gotten to them yet. Some of these books came with the house and I just haven’t gotten rid of them yet.

So my bookshelf is just puny in comparison to those of my friend Sonya, who first introduced me to this fad. And even her collections pale against this. Though I have to say that Sonya’s books are more accessible (ordered by subject first, color second).

Zach had this great prank idea, that we would sneak into Kristin’s house next time she’s out of town and do this to her mondo-multi-room book collection (currently meticulously arranged by subject and sub-subject). I laughed til I cried as I contemplated the total friendship breaker that would be for her!!
Zach is still convinced that the humor here would outweigh any other relationship risk.

5 Responses to “one reason to keep your books”


  1. 1 Kristin (delic8genius) May 14, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    Kthx. ๐Ÿ™‚ Do you value your drywall, Zach? Well, do ya, punk?

  2. 2 Marian May 15, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    Oh no, now I feel so threatened, I guess I must organize all my cookbook shelves by color, But what if not enough are the right colors? I will have to buy more lime green ones—Love, Marian

  3. 3 Sonya May 19, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    You know you are doomed when you start thinking – No more red books! We have too many red books!

  4. 4 maria May 20, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    The very idea of this makes me uncomfortable. Must alphebetize.

  5. 5 Amber January 18, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    Thanks for coming by my blog ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’ve loved looking through your pages & adore the colour-coding here!


Leave a Reply

Archives


