Fruit Booter

My mom and I pieced this quilt for Zach for Christmas 2007. I am notorious for making quilt tops that then sit unfinished for months (or even years…see the story of the July 21st Header). Months ago I purchased backing (though not quite enough), batting (polar fleece), and cotton floss for tying. Then my house has been in such upheaval with construction and new roommates that I misplaced several of those items.

Truly, I forgot all about the quilt. Then all items except the floss were discovered in the bottom of the armoire, necessitating a trip to the fabric store for replacement floss and more backing.

Last week mom came over at 7:30am and spent the cool hours of the morning helping me tie the quilt on my driveway under the trees.

I went back the fabric store Saturday because I had forgotten to get material to bind it. I will post full pics when the thing is fully bound and labeled (should be done just in time to re-gift it to him for xmas). At that time I’ll tell you where this quilt’s queer title came from!

3 Responses to “Fruit Booter”


  1. 1 Kristin (delic8genius) July 21, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    Sara it is so beautiful! Hooray!

  2. 2 Sonya July 21, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    It is phenomenal! A riot of color.

  3. 3 Marian July 24, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    This combination of brights with black and white prints are so cheery and happy. I wish I had been there under the trees to help tie it too. I believe I have all these fabrics, I should try something in this palette of colors, hmmm, so inspiring! Love it!


Leave a Reply

Archives


