First Haircut

The Boogedy is almost 18 months old. I’ve had to cut his bangs many times to keep them out of his eyes, but I’ve never been able to cut the curls. Finally, in the heat of the summer (and due to his latest trick of smearing food in his hair when angry), I gave him his first haircut. I looked up how to cut a kid’s hair, decided that he’s not old enough to do that, and put him to bed and waited until he was out cold.

Before:

I turned him from side to side, trying to get it all even. Then I went downstairs and told Zach “I cut his hair.” Zach flipped out just a little, saying “you probably butchered it”, “I bet it looks like you used a bowl”, and “We never agreed that it was time to cut his hair!!”

I tossed and turned all night, hoping that I hadn’t made a horrible mistake and turned our beautiful baby into a doofus. When I awoke the next morning, I was looking at the cutest “big boy” on the planet.

Big Boy

Big Boy

So grown up! I told him I’m expecting complete sentences any day now.

I saved most of the locks. What I’ll do with the hair, I do not know. Put it in an acid-free envelope and file it after “umbilical cord stump” probably.

3 Responses to “First Haircut”


  1. 1 Kristin (delic8genius) August 11, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    I’m the doofus. I grinned like an idiot thru this whole post. Still am grinning like idiot. Sooooo cute. You slay me, as you always have.

  2. 2 Sonya August 12, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    Sleeping haircut? That’s a new one. Looks like you are a natural at it and I expect Toddler Archimedes to speak French by the end of the year, then moving onto German perhaps.

  3. 3 maria August 13, 2008 at 12:13 am

    Was that like the scariest thing ever, or what? I remember cutting Zero’s nails was pretty freak-out-inducing for me. Especially after I nipped his quick a tiny bit and made him bleed that one time. Then I was Worst Dog Mom Ever.

    BTW — I am going to take photos of the bags I sewed up, and then you or Sonya will get to pick. I might have her pick for you. Mwahahah.


Leave a Reply

Archives


