Progress Has Been Made

As a knitting teacher, I’m just about the worst example ever set. I DID follow my own advice and make a gauge swatch. I got 6 stitches instead of 5.5 to the inch, not such a big deal, but I totally failed to think all the way through how that would impact my finished project. I knitted the first sleeve to 8 inches long before I thought to measure it against my boy. Lo and behold, it would not go around his little hand. I had to rip it out and start over!!

But, here are the finished pieces, pinned and blocked. That feels good. They’ve been held up to a squirmy little guy and it appears the cardigan will indeed fit. (You’ll forgive my stained ironing board…no matter how careful I am, it always looks like I’ve been eating ham sandwiches while doing my domestic chores.)

I made another not-so-obvious mistake in the sleeves, which I chose to forgive and forget. I am including side-by-side photos of the sleeves and will send a prize to the reader who spots the mistake and writes me a comment that doesn’t hurt my feelings horribly.

Today I brought the sleeves with me on the bus and managed to seam one completely. The commute back should produce a second sleeve. Home stretch here. I’m still accepting good luck wishes on the setting in of sleeves and the sewing in of zipper!

8/12/08 Update: An observant reader (Allysha) saw an error I hadn’t noticed, and upon closer inspection, I saw yet another!! I’m NOT redoing that green sleeve. No Way.

3 Responses to “Progress Has Been Made”


  1. 1 allysha August 11, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    (please, please, please don’t hurt any feelings!) I think that the slight slip is in the bottom row of o’s in the second photo. It looks like the top of the bottom row of O’s has one row of stitches while the upper has two? No matter what, I’m in absolute awe of the little sweater! the colors and pattern are so fun. I’m still working my way up from hats and scarves so blogs like yours are good inspiration to keep me going!

  2. 2 Sonya August 12, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    The sleeves are different colors. Duh Sara.

  3. 3 maria August 13, 2008 at 12:10 am

    LOL I agree with Sonya. ~_^

    But you can totally just call it a design feature and no one will know!


Leave a Reply

Archives


