Long-Awaited Present

In February of 2006, Zach’s friend Jeremiah came to Hollywood to visit us for the weekend. Zach and I had decided we might elope, if the time felt right. On a nice Sunday morning, Jer went online and got his minister’s license so he could officiate. When our regular Church of Brunch guests arrived, we told them that they were all invited to Griffith Park after brunch for an elopement party. Actually, we had told two close friends, Mike and Dorothy, about it ahead of time so they could be witnesses, but no one else knew.

Here’s a photo of us swearing our vows on a stack of pancakes (because we BELIEVE in pancakes). The Chibby ate most of them after the ceremony. Zach’s holding my bouquet because I was nervous and didn’t know where to put it while I was making my promises.

So anyway, I promised Jer a hat in thanks for his matrimonial services. He recently tried to talk me into felted slippers, but I just couldn’t bear doing another pair! So, he’s getting this awesome hat instead. The pattern is easy and FUN, find it at Spunky Eclectic. If Jer requests earflaps, I’ll post an update after they’re done.

4 Responses to “Long-Awaited Present”


  1. 1 preita October 24, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    I love that you “BELIEVE” in pancakes. I do too. I wonder why that wasn’t an option when my Mr & I tied the knot πŸ˜› Very cute post πŸ˜€

  2. 2 zach moses October 24, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    You forgot to add the part about Jeremiah procrastinating till the last minute to get his ministers license.

  3. 3 Sonya October 26, 2008 at 9:14 am

    That little turquoise edging is THE BEST. Love how The Chib looks so earnest in the photos. I guess it’s the pancakes. He believed in them too. Their inherent tastiness.

  4. 4 Jeremiah October 30, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    Hmm… What day did we get you two married? I got my Reverendry on 2/12/06… Can barely wait for the hat it looks amazing. And I guess maybe I did actually wait until the last minute πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Archives


