Chompers and Watchers

Cool: This craft project is hilarious! Thanks so much to BitterBetty for her creativity, a great blog, and for this excellent tutorial. Here are pics of the assembly line:

And photos of more creepy plants. The orchids “watch” the front door. The chomper guards the water fountain.

Dissapointing: I invited 5 people to my little craft party on Sunday, and everybody but my mom cancelled. Tis the season, I know. Fall means everybody gets sick. The way I usually structure these get-togethers is to have everyone pay a small (like $5) materials fee to offset the costs. So after my mom gave me $7 (she’s a good tipper), it meant I spent 23 bucks on styrofoam, paint, pipe cleaners, my first glue gun, silly vampire teeth, etc. About $18 More than I would have with my tight budget, if I’d known it was just going to be us.

I spent tons of time shopping for this project, and hours ahead of time pre-painting everything. Zim’s is going out of business, so I saved $$). I was really looking forward to social time with my friends around the hot glue gun, and potluck snackies. I don’t like sounding whiny, but making 36 chompers practically by myself was exhausting. Mom and I only finished two “watchers”.

Oh well. More chompers for me. Anybody have any pointers on making craft parties successful?

4 Responses to “Chompers and Watchers”


  1. 1 maria October 28, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    I think the only successful craft parties are ones which people pay you to attend. And even then I think most of them fail.

    Sorry. Do I sound bitter? LOL Maybe part of the problem is that crafting is such a cozy, homey thing to do. We go into hermit mode, ready to stockpile supplies for the long winter ahead. Or something. And then we think, Hey, there’s really no reason to leave the house! I’m so cozy and warm here. And if I go outside the wind might touch me and then I’ll be less warm.

    Maybe I just think this because I’m a litle chilly right now. If I could, I would totally come to one of your craft parties. Will you be making the trek to SF this fall or winter? We could try to strongarm Sonya into hosting a craft party. Like the cupcake swap.

  2. 2 Sonya October 30, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    Strongarm? Listen to Maria. I remember how well that cupcake party was attended, so I have no tips. I love that you used Bethany’s tutorial to transform the orchids into carnivorous variety.

  3. 3 bitterbetty November 4, 2008 at 8:57 am

    your plants look super cool. I have only ever had poorly attended craft parties. I wonder often, why that is.

    Anyway.. you make me proud!

  4. 4 The man of the house November 7, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    I asked if she wanted help at least a dozen times… I don’t think I ever did though.


Leave a Reply

Archives


