The Happy Viking

modern-viking

Here Zach is in all his knitted xmas finery, plotting the next pillage. The hat is already his most complimented item of clothing ever.

The scarf is the Noro stripey fad that I first learned of through the Yarn Harlot. Kristin and I went shopping together, but used different colorways (her Ravelry link). We both made the mistake of reading “supplies: two balls”. She went back for more to match her first balls, but I decided to try a third colorway. It’s an interesting jog where the third ball meets, but I like it.

The hat is my own invention. I used Lamb’s Pride Bulky in dark gray for the beanie. The horns are crocheted from a skinny yarn Sonya gave me (koigu?) and stuffed firmly with fluff. I’m quite proud of the horns, especially that fact that I managed to make them the same size, when I never wrote down the pattern. Kristin and I spent ages cutting out napkins and thinking this thing through to get horns that curved this way! The braids are Cascade 220. The bolts are plastic buttons.

I’m working on writing up a pattern. Leave a comment if you’re interested!

6 Responses to “The Happy Viking”


  1. 1 maria January 7, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    Zach looks amazing in his knitted finery! I love the smile! And, of course, I love the knitting. That hat is pretty awesome, and the scarf is great too! 🙂

  2. 2 Sonya January 8, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    Knitted finery is right! Love the helmet and braids.

  3. 3 megan October 13, 2009 at 11:22 am

    love it! and would love to get my hands on the pattern! 🙂

  4. 4 Andrea March 15, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    Hi!!! have you posted the pattern of the hat anywhere yet???….or would you mind send it to my please!!!!!

    I love it!!!

  5. 5 Chantal December 11, 2010 at 1:02 am

    I am VERY interested in getting this pattern. I have been looking for a crocheted pattern for a viking hat for awhile. Any chance you did videos?


  1. 1 ZachMoses.com » The magical weather continues :) Trackback on April 4, 2009 at 1:37 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives


