Delaney’s Delight

delight-1-small

My friend Jenn approached me last July about knitting a blanket for her little cousin’s birthday in September. A knitted blanket turned out to be prohibitively expensive (and time-intensive), so we agreed on the size/price/general color scheme (bright!) for a pieced quilt instead. Jenn’s taste seemed to lean toward geometrics and liberal use of stripes. She insisted that the quilt be feminine, but not little-girly, so that as Delaney grew, she wouldn’t think of it as her baby quilt.

delaney-detail-6-small-small delaney-detail-5-small-small

I enlisted the help of my mom and sister to help with piecing and binding this twin-size beauty, and had it professionally quilted by Sue’s Machine Quilting in Roy, UT. I was so pleased with this quilter’s work and speed!! I highly recommend her if you’re looking to have something quilted. I embroidered the label and appliqued it to the soft flannel back.

delight-back-small

By the time we had everything figured out, we had to push our date to xmas, instead, and Jenn says that Delaney sat in the box on xmas morning and really was delighted by the present. I was so pleased, because I know that sometimes little kids can be so non-chalant about blankets, socks, clothes, etc.

delight-label-small

Here’s me laying it out at my mom’s apartment:

delaney-3-small-small

9 Responses to “Delaney’s Delight”


  1. 1 Natalie Lowry January 24, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    I love this quilt Sara, I’m glad that it was a hit for the receiver.

  2. 2 therese January 24, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    well wow right back at you, that is some heavy duty quilting you’re at there! 🙂
    if you do make the viking shoes, i would love to see the result!
    therese

  3. 3 therese January 24, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    well wow right back at you, that is some heavy duty quilting your at there! 🙂
    if you make the viking shoes, i would love to see the result!
    therese

  4. 4 maria January 25, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    That is so beautiful! I would love it on my bed, but I don’t think Andrew would be as fond. Haha!

  5. 5 Kristin January 26, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    Oh Sara it’s GLORIOUS. I hope she always treasures it!

  6. 6 jen January 26, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    gorgeous! it’ll be treasured for years.

  7. 7 Sonya January 27, 2009 at 11:23 am

    Well the knitted blanket (and my consultation) might not have yielded any fruit, but from my own personal experience I can attest to the beauty of you mad quilting skills. Delaney’s quilt is gorgeous.

  8. 8 Marian January 27, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    From the close-up pics I am sure she can look at all the fabrics over and over and it is even more interesting from inches away! I love it.

  9. 9 your mama February 15, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    Oh Sara, we really did great…I love the the color combinations you chose so much.


Leave a Reply

Archives


