Hyperbolic sunset pants!

h-pants-back-small

What an embarassing dust cloud lurking beneath my sofa. Don’t look.

How cool are these pants?! My sister-in-law Natalie gave me the pattern last year for the Boogedy’s first b-day. She originally saw the pants in Craft: Magazine, but my boy was already too big for the published pattern, so she bought me the book. She gave me money to buy yarn, which I purchased in cream and dyed using kool-aid (see previous post).

h-pants-seam-small

The pattern was really easy. I had one tiny question and emailed the author, who assured me that I was doing it right. Before I seamed them, I handed them to all sorts of people to puzzle over, including these two teachers at my school, who wondered on what planet this “thing” would be a pair of pants (and possibly why I thought “sunset” was an appropriate “boy” color scheme).

mic-skirt-smallscott-what-the-heck-small

The Boogedy was impatient with photography while I was snapping these photos, and got grouchy, but you need to see the difference between the front and back of these pants. Plus, you get to see Nat, the gifter of said pants.

h-pants-squirm-small

3 Responses to “Hyperbolic sunset pants!”


  1. 1 painted fish studio February 2, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    these pants are rocking my monday!

  2. 2 Marian February 3, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    These are really fun and funny looking too. Once when I was flying to mom I ran out of clothes with a sick kid on the plane. ALl I had was his sweater which I buttoned up and put his legs in the sleeves. Obviously, now there was a hole in the crotch, Our mom thought they were ” newfangled modern European sweater pants”. Which I guess these really are?

  3. 3 Jeaka February 3, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    I love these pants and Archimedes looks great in them. I thinks this yarn in absolutely gorgeous. I’ve always been a big fan of Kool-Aid.


Leave a Reply

Archives


