Stirrings and Shrooms

I’m am beginning my first blog-collaboration! I will be working with the talented Jen at Painted Fish Studio on a photo project for Spring we’ve titled “Stirrings”. We’ll each be looking for evidence of spring in our neighborhoods. Since she lives in the midwest, her photos may have to be REALLY abstract for a while longer. In the meantime, things are warming up just a tad here and I am offering this photo as evidence of my feelings of spring:

Anticipation

That’s me, waiting at the bus stop. Knitting. OUTDOORS. Glorious day! After a few weeks of sludgy air. And yes, you’ll see the finished project after February 21, when a little somebody gets it for his birthday!

****

Also new for me, I have signed up to participate in a Handmade Mushroom Swap with the marvelous KnitSonya (nope, you can’t join…entries are closed!)

I’m making my mushrooms by needle-felting, the first thing I’ve really done using this technique. Here is where I sheepishly admit that Sonya gave me a great xmas present (in 2007) consisting of felting needles, a foam pad, and lots of different colored roving for me to take up this hobby. I’ve done mostly nothing with her present but fondle the wool for more than a year. Thinking positively…What better time for me to take the leap than for a project she is hostessing?

4 Responses to “Stirrings and Shrooms”


  1. 1 painted fish studio February 4, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    cheers to our collaboration! i do love the photo. we’re expecting a bit of a thaw this weekend, maybe i’ll get a shot or two! but we’re still so far away from spring here…

  2. 2 Marian February 4, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    Ooh OOH I have had the needles for 5 years and the foam pad and NO roving, So I have not done a thing either, but I did join a needle felting yahoo group last week and they post tons of inspiring photos of little felty animals! I am going to have to buy some roving soon. I saw a wonderful felted angel with felted wings in a gallery in Maine. She had a beautiful face, not cartooinsh at all. She was 300 dollars and I really wanted her, alas, I did not buy!

  3. 3 Sonya February 14, 2009 at 11:10 pm

    I love, love that you and Jen have found each other. I’m excited to see the simultaneous stirrings of spring in both your locales.

    And you’ve just been waiting for the perfect opportunity to use your needle-felting supplies. Wouldn’t you know I’ve provided it. Consider me your felt midwife.


  1. 1 Stirrings-Lavender blossoms « IbbySkibby Trackback on February 9, 2009 at 4:40 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives


