Great Room-BEFORE pics

I know, I know…all I ever give you guys is Before pictures, never any Afters. But here’s the thing…Everyone expects before pics to look bad. I am not a great photographer, so my after pics never make anything look as good as it feels.

west-1-small

I’m so excited about this new project, Zach’s most ambitious yet. He tore down the wall between the dining room and second parlor in order to make a great room!

west-2-small

In doing so, he came across a LOT of foolish, dangerous mistakes made by previous homeowners, including THREE joists in a row that have been cut almost entirely through to accomodate sewer pipes. Can you guess what sits atop two of these two-thirds-gone joists?…That’s right, the bathtub. *Shudder*.

So, he had to build a weight-bearing wall to fix this problem. When it was built, it looked so much like a chimney that we have decided to put a mantel and gas fireplace there, and hang some artwork or a nice mirror over it. Can you picture it?

chimney-small

He’ll enclose part of the shaft as a cold-air return to vent the upstairs . Those big silver vents run heat/ac to the second floor bedrooms and future attic playroom. The left-hand side will be a cleverly concealed,  tall, narrow closet.

We’ll be closing a narrow door on the opposite wall:

door-to-be-closed-small

and raising an archway of a bigger doorway:

door-to-be-raised-small

Which means moving all the switches so that they make sense with the new orientation.

Zach found an old stovepipe chimney, and we’re still toying with the idea of putting a wood-burning stove into that taped off front parlor. Maybe we’d be going a little overkill with the romance of Fire, there. But we probably will at least leave some of that brick exposed and do something artsy. I’ll keep you posted.

discovered-stovepipe-small

Can I tell you how happy I am to have a husband who can do all this stuff? And DOES IT! Despite my ridiculous whining about living in construction dust. The man is a saint. A talented SAINT.

7 Responses to “Great Room-BEFORE pics”


  1. 1 husband February 6, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    My work, all mine. Yup I’m pretty amazing.

  2. 2 painted fish studio February 6, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    damn. damn. damn. you are one lucky lady! do you want to know how much i paid to have that much work done on my house? do you? no. and yet, i’m considering doing it again to 2 more rooms, but the dust and mess really drive me nuts.

    do hope to see after pics!

  3. 3 maria February 6, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    I’m totally jealous. Not of the man so much as the house to do the work on. Oh, and I’m jealous that Zach gets to have all this fun! (Though I am sure it’s quite a lot of work, too.)

  4. 4 Aimee February 13, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    You guys are going to have the fanciest house around. I think a fireplace will look really cool in that room. I can’t wait to see the after pics!

  5. 5 Sonya February 14, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    I can see it! When does Zach want to come back and help us with our bathroom? You guys are about due for a visit.


  1. 1 ZachMoses.com » New Great Room. Trackback on February 6, 2009 at 1:18 pm
  2. 2 Tung Oil Floor « IbbySkibby Trackback on April 22, 2009 at 6:55 am

Leave a Reply

Archives


