Stirrings-Fresh Eggs

eggs-small

No. 3 in my collaboration “Stirrings” with Jen at Painted Fish Studio, wherein we search for signs of spring.

My chickens had very low egg production over the winter. But Spring is in the coop, and they’re all laying now! Perhaps the longer days are responsible for their new fecundity.Despite having had chickens for several years now, I still feel like they’re mostly Zach’s hobby and I don’t know much about their biology and laying habits.

They’re cute, though, when I step out the back door and holler CHEEK-INS! Cheek-ins! Bock bock bock bock! and they run their funny wobbly run to see what treats I brought. Banana is the favorite snack.

I didn’t know chickens could act insulted until I offered them brussels sprout leaves and carrot peals.

3 Responses to “Stirrings-Fresh Eggs”


  1. 1 painted fish studio February 23, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    you have chickens?! you are so dang cool!

  2. 2 Sonya February 24, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    Benjamin does the same sort of thing with the rats (newest family members) though he doesn’t call CHEEK-ENS or even RATT-EES, he’s much to serious for things like that I guess. Also, they’re not free-range rats. Enclosed. Caged. Anyway, he knows they reeaaaally like something when they grab it and eat it right away; only moderately when they grab it and scurry off to the other end of the cage to stash it; and not at all when they drop and ignore. You can just imagine their little ratty minds “Om, nom, nom, this is too good to store, chomp, chew.” Or at least I can.

  3. 3 Sonya February 24, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    Oh and I am totally jealous of your beautiful eggs. Even though you didn’t choose any of my chicken names. But who’s remembering?


Leave a Reply

Archives


