Tacky Fridge Magnet Swap!

A few years ago, my friend Alexis in San Francisco visited Europe. She asked what I’d like her to bring me. I said “Bring me the tackiest fridge magnet in the EU!”. She brought me this from Amsterdam:

magnet-piggy-small

It’s still the tackiest thing on my fridge.

Lately, I’ve been thinking about swaps, and had so much fun participating in  KnitSonya’s Handmade Mushroom Swap, that I’ve decided to host my first swap.

Rules of the Tacky Handmade Fridge Magnet Swap:

1. Each participant must make 5 fridge magnets, roughly identical. Each magneteer will receive 5 random magnets!

2. Magnets should be TACKY. Not merely lame like this one on my fridge:

magnet-lame-small

Nor merely dorky like this one of me on the Santa Monica roller coaster in 2004 (back row):

magnet-santa-monica-small1

2. BUT, Magnets shouldn’t be obscene. My piggy might push some people’s limits of acceptable fridge decor, but she’s ok by me. Please just use your best judgment on the line between tacky and inappropriate.

3. Magnets must be handmade.  The medium and size is up to you as long as they fit criterion 4:

4. Magnets must be functional (i.e., must hold up at least one photo or child’s drawing and must not be so heavy as to slide down the fridge)

5. Magnets must be mailed to me, postmarked by April 15 (tax day!) and you must enclose a priority mail stamp or appropriate postage to have your surprise magnets sent to you.

Email me if you’re interested! And, pass it on…We need at least 6 participants!

4 Responses to “Tacky Fridge Magnet Swap!”


  1. 1 Jeaka March 7, 2009 at 5:04 am

    I am in! I already have my design in mind

  2. 2 Aimee March 8, 2009 at 9:54 am

    Ohhh I want in on this. I have so many wonderfully tacky ideas.
    P.S. I always wondered about that trampy pig of yours. 🙂

  3. 3 painted fish studio March 8, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    looooove the pig!

    count me in! i’ll try to think of a great tacky idea…

  4. 4 Marian March 18, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    sorry I can’t! my house is staged to sell and distressingly empty right now–Next one though- Love, marian


Leave a Reply

Archives


