Getting Back Some Strength

working-out-small

I hurt my back in December. First I went to a yoga class and overdid it a bit. The next day I shoveled our whole walk and driveway. The next day I picked up my toddler and ZOW, pulled out my back. I couldn’t move the day after that. I went to a chiropractor a bunch and missed a lot of work, and had to cancel all plans for travelling over xmas break. But I healed, and I felt better, and I started going back to the gym.

Then, stupidly, I hurt it again in late February. I laid a ton of quilt blocks out on the floor for a quilt my mom is working on. The next day I taught a 2-hour knitting class, with lots of bending over and inspecting of stitches. Then, two days later I made a pair of leather shoes for Zach for our anniversary (post coming soon, I promise!): lots of bending over and cutting and punching holes. I couldn’t get out of bed the next morning!

So, now that I’m healed from that ordeal, I’ve decided that I really must get serious about strengthening my core muscles so that this doesn’t continue to happen. I gotta get back on my bike, but I’m not hardcore, and it’s still COLD.

So, on Tuesday I went to my first ever pilates class. It was fun! This was probably due in big part to the friendliness of the instructor and the other class members. I tried to take it really slow and easy. My abs and lower back were tired and sore afterwards, but I iced my back and felt better the next day.

Seeing the bikes in this photo reminds  me of this post by Zach.

2 Responses to “Getting Back Some Strength”


  1. 1 maria April 3, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    I’m glad you’re feeling better! I know that my back pain is the one thing that really makes me feel old. Blah. Also, that chubby robin is amazing!

  2. 2 painted fish studio April 5, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    sore backs really suck. take it easy while you build strength… i hope pilates help!


Leave a Reply

Archives


