Bawk Bawk-Finished Chicken Butt Hat

Chicken Butt Hat

Photo Credit: Jama Rattigan

Here is an adorable photo of Erica Perl, author of the new children’s book “Chicken Butt!” sporting a very cool hat made my yours truly.

Erica contacted me a few months back and asked me to make a hat modeled on the one I made last year for the Boogedy, but before the plucking.

The body and drumsticks are white cotton, “Luna” by Cascade Yarns. The feet are also Luna, and they’re crocheted around a brown pipe cleaner for stability. The “feathers” are a polyester fluff yarn but I don’t remember the name.

This project was fun every step of the way (ok, the feet were a challenge) and elicited lots of laughs from people who watched me make it on the bus!

Congratulations Erica on a fun book, I’m so glad you trusted me to design your reading hat!

7 Responses to “Bawk Bawk-Finished Chicken Butt Hat”


  1. 1 Jeaka May 9, 2009 at 6:57 am

    This is a great hat! I sure wish we could she her reading the book at barnes and nobles wearing it. You are so very talented. Proud of you Sis.

  2. 2 Marian May 9, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    How clever of the author to commission one of these for herself. Now when I get that cookbook distributorship I shall have to think of one of knitted food for myself as well…

  3. 3 Sonya May 10, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    That is so wonderful – those crazy chicken claws sticking out crack me up.

  4. 5 Jeremiah May 11, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    That hat is nearly as cool as Zach and mines sweet viking battle helmets! =D

  5. 6 Jennifer July 5, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    I’d love to make one of these myself. Can you share the techniques you used for the feet? Also, for the modified top – did you knit a few extra rows before reducing, then reduce partly, knit several rows and finally reduce to the end? Sorry, I’m a fairly new knitter and don’t design for myself, but I can modify some.

    thanks!
    from a librarian, chicken lover and admirer of the bizarre.


  1. 1 Dotty Hat « ibbyskibby Trackback on September 14, 2010 at 10:22 am

Leave a Reply

Archives


