Day 850-Bike ride

Day 850-trailer

Zach would like me to title this post: “Two and a quarter years after giving birth, Sara feels ready to hitch up the baby and ride”. Last Friday, I decided that I could take the burden from Zach, the Boogedy’s usual bicycle chauffer, and hitch the trailer to my bike frame to go for a 2-mile ride. It was easy. Piece of Cake. Of course, it was a fairly flat trail along the Jordan River. But now I’m sure I’ll be asked to do it more often.

I have carried the Boogedy in a maya wrap, a sling, dangling in a carseat, in my arms, in a backpack, on my hip, or on my shoulders for a large portion of his waking hours. I have done this even while pushing his stroller or a laden grocery cart because I have a snuggly boy who prefers to “HUGGY”.

Last week I gave my stripy red sling to a friend who just had her baby. As I was demonstrating it with the Boogedy, I was pleased to feel my toddler relax and curve against me again (we haven’t used the sling since last autumn). It was a bittersweet moment when I kissed my heavy baby’s big head, which used to tuck under my chin, and I realized that pretty soon, I won’t want to carry him anymore, and after that comes something worse: he won’t want me to carry him. Then I sighed and put him down, and helped my friend negotiate the wrapping and tucking of her 7.5-p0und treasure, whose head will someday bump against her cheek.

4 Responses to “Day 850-Bike ride”


  1. 1 Kristin June 22, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    I don’t have anything to say. Just AWWWWWWWW. 😀

  2. 2 Jeaka June 23, 2009 at 8:10 am

    Josh was always a really snuggly boy. I am sure that Boogedy will be also. I love it when he looks at me and asks. “Huggy?” What a precious boy you have.

  3. 3 Sonya June 24, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    Quit being so maudlin, they ALWAYS want you to pick them up.

  4. 4 Stephanie Tworek July 2, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    What a sweet post. I have a snugly girl too, and I wouldent have it any other way


Leave a Reply

Archives


