Fingerless “Blitz”ens

These wild-lighting mittens have to be the prettiest thing I’ve ever knitted. And they have the added bonus of being for ME!

Problem 1: They’re really snug, but maybe they’ll stretch out a bit…please?

Problem 2: I’m moving to Florida, where I doubt I’ll really need these wooly wonders.

And before you ask, no, you can’t have them. They’re too small for you, too!

They’re coming to Florida with me. I’m hoping for another freak winter that freezes the iguanas out of the trees in Miami.

For the knitters: I used less than one ball of Schoppel Wolle Zauberball in color “fuchsienbeet”. That color name cracks me up. I used size 1 needles, knit the mittens flat, and seamed them. I made up this pattern, and it was really easy.

Update: I didn’t take them with me to Florida. I faced the music and admitted they were too tight. I gave them to a teenaged niece and hoped she wouldn’t outgrow them too fast! I have never needed mittens since moving here.  I did, however, bring the leftover yarn! Check out the baby hat I made with it here!

5 Responses to “Fingerless “Blitz”ens”


  1. 1 kristin April 21, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    they’re super cute…and just think how nice they’ll feel in all that cold air conditioned indoor temperatures. you’ll need them there for sure!

  2. 2 morewithles April 21, 2010 at 11:13 pm

    GORGEOUS!!!

  3. 4 smoothpebble May 9, 2010 at 9:09 am

    those are crazy cool – love them. hey you could always wear them with your bathing suit at the beach!


  1. 1 Hot Pink-Purple-Orange Baby Cap « ibbyskibby Trackback on February 13, 2012 at 9:07 am

Leave a Reply

Archives


