Homemade Pop Tarts

I made these at the beginning of May, and forgot to post the pictures! I’m sure I didn’t post them because I made a ridiculous mistake in the baking, but I thought that you deserve to see:

I forgot to eggwash the tart tops until halfway through baking so I thought, “oh, I’ll just put it on now”, not realizing that the hot tarts would instantly scramble the eggs. *unappetizing*

Other than their unattractive appearance, these poptarts were fantastic! SOO much better than the storebought stuff. And easy too! For this first try, I just used strawberry jam, so that I would be able to truly compare to the commercial version. But then I couldn’t help it and I used some whole wheat flour for deeper flavor.

Now I want to make poptarts with all different kinds of stuffings, especially a savory version with pesto.

This awesome recipe came from Smitten Kitchen, a really beautiful foodie blog, whose recipes are also delicious.

2 Responses to “Homemade Pop Tarts”


  1. 1 morewithles July 9, 2010 at 10:10 am

    I have seen this recipe and wanted to try them myself. Now I just may go ahead and do it! šŸ™‚


  1. 1 Poptarts Redux « ibbyskibby Trackback on February 1, 2012 at 10:03 am

Leave a Reply

Archives


