Lace Scarf Finished

I am so proud of myself for undertaking and finishing a lace project! This scarf is for my lovely mother-in-law Betty. I know she loves red, and that was the only excuse I needed to buy this gorgeous cashmere yarn.

In this photo, the scarf is being blocked (stretched to the right shape) and the color is truer than in the backlit photo above.

For knitters, the pattern is Pyrifera, named for a fast-growing seaweed, with beautiful examples for Ravelry members here. I named mine Rhodophydta, for red seaweed. The yarn is Artyarns Cashmere 1 ply. This was an excellent choice for a first lace project, as I was able to memorize the 10-row repeat very easily.

P.S. I think I am now addicted to lace, because I have two more projects started needles!

4 Responses to “Lace Scarf Finished”


  1. 1 Kristin March 18, 2011 at 11:04 am

    Oh Sara WELL DONE! It’s beautiful! Will you do more lace? Is it something you like to do?

  2. 2 Kristin March 18, 2011 at 11:05 am

    Oh dur, I need to read. You’re addicted. ok then.

  3. 3 jackie April 8, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    oh my gosh, gorgeous is the appropriate tag for this for sure! Your mother-in-law is so lucky to be recieving this. I can see why you are addicted.

    I had to chuckle at your comments & link on my post today about macaroons. I know, right? the whole world is in love with macaroons. Give me chocolate any day!

  4. 4 Crochet Lace July 18, 2011 at 5:24 am

    A first lace project??wow and so brilliant!That is a great lace scarf. I love long scarves and a special mention for the color.Pretty:)


Leave a Reply

Archives


