Pinkish Pasta

My friend Paige and I got together last week at her house to make fresh beet pasta (recipe from Martha Stewart).

The beet puree was gorgeous, though if I did it again I would use the juicer to make pulp that is finer and drier.

The dough was pretty. The baby was TRYING to be helpful. We wore old clothes so we wouldn’t get stained.

But in the end the dough was too soft, stretchy, and sticky and we used a bunch of flour to keep them from reforming into a mass.

I thought the noodles looked like hookworms.

Neither of us took pictures of them cooked up. I thought they were UGLY when cooked, having changed from Sunset Violet to something like this reddish pinkish brownish bag . A whole lot of work for something vaguely unappealing.

1 Response to “Pinkish Pasta”


  1. 1 Mernie October 24, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    I love love beets and I still think they are yucky looking and if they get yuckier when cooked? I’d maybe just eat the puree over some pasta–or cook it in beet water?


Leave a Reply

Archives


