Shiny Black Glass Beads

I’ve had a few lessons on making lampwork beads, something I’ve been wanting to learn for years and years. This small handful represents two sessions of progress. The first week I made a bunch of smallish plain black beads and the polka dotted ones. The second week I made the fancy flower ones. I’ve labeled the two made by my teacher, Debby Weaver, so you can see what I was going for on those flowers.

Debby taught me using black glass because it is visibly obvious how molten the glass is, whereas some of the other colors take more experience to work with. A few of my polka dotted beads cracked clean in half in the kiln because of temperature irregularities before I put them in there.

I really wish I had the space and money to take this up as a real hobby. I love doing it, and I feel like I’m pretty good at it, considering that I made that black/periwinkle/mint polka dot bead in the center on Day One! I wish Debby weren’t going back home to Maryland next month!

2 Responses to “Shiny Black Glass Beads”


  1. 1 Maria March 5, 2012 at 11:34 am

    Those are so beautiful! Do you have any plans for them?

  2. 2 jackie March 5, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    wow I am impressed! I think you have the knack for this too. any other outlets to continue with this without investing in all the equipment yourself?


Leave a Reply

Archives


