Happy Birthday Chicken Boys!

Same hat, different cakeMy son (on the right) and his cousin were born 5 days apart. I made each of them an Elf Hat for their tiny little newborn heads. Now they are celebrating their first birthday, and again I made them matching hats. We have to make them wear these things while they’re young and can’t say “no” or “hell no” or “mom, no way, I’ll look like a dork!!”

My hats were inspired by this pattern, though my decreases at the top are different (for that distinctive “chicken butt” shape). I crocheted the drumsticks because that was so much easier than knitting. The hats are some inexpensive cotton from JoAnns, because that’s the yarn I could find in this lovely “plucked poultry carcass” colorway.

Chicken Butt Hat DetailChicken Butt Hat

10 Responses to “Happy Birthday Chicken Boys!”


  1. 1 thekidneybean February 25, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    Love the birthday photograph. What cuties! The hats are very creative and I like how you modified the butt, lol.

  2. 2 Rachel February 27, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    Love their hats!! Too cute!

  3. 3 Sonya March 1, 2008 at 12:08 am

    GAHHK! That is brilliant!!!! What is better than one chicken hat, well two of course. You have outdone yourself my dear.

  4. 4 Sonya March 1, 2008 at 12:09 am

    I need to show you my chicken photos someday. I know, I know that sounds like such a pick-up line…

  5. 5 Aimee March 3, 2008 at 10:26 am

    This is the best picture! I love them in their chicken butt hats. They are wonderful. I think you may have a problem though… how are you going to out do these hats? Oh well you have a year, I know you will think of something hilarious. 🙂

  6. 6 Monica March 11, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    I’d like to know why a chicken hat… but noooo, don’t worry. They look so cute!

    But I’m afraid one day they’ll definitively rebel!!


  1. 1 Chicken Butt Book and Hat « IbbySkibby Trackback on March 3, 2009 at 5:46 pm
  2. 2 Happy Birthday Snake Boy! « IbbySkibby Trackback on April 14, 2009 at 7:12 am
  3. 3 Bawk Bawk-Finished Chicken Butt Hat « IbbySkibby Trackback on May 8, 2009 at 4:49 pm

Leave a comment




Archives